By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
County Civil Grand Jury selected
Grand jury generic art

Nineteen residents of the county have been appointed to the 2021-22 Stanislaus County Civil Grand Jury and four others selected as alternates in the event that a regular grand juror resigns or is removed.

The selection was made by Department 4 Superior Court, Judge Carrie Stephens presided on June 30, 2021.

The jury, which started serving on July 1 and will end service on June 30, 2022, is formed to investigate and report on the operations of local government. The grand jury’s fact-finding efforts result in a written report which contains specific recommendations aimed at identifying problems and offering recommendations for improving government operations and enhancing responsiveness. In this way, the grand jury acts as a representative of county residents in promoting government accountability.

Two members from Ceres were selected: Maria Castillo and Daa-iyah Salahuddin. Other members are foreman Michael Herrero of Modesto; and Modesto residents Laurie Overly, Patricia Brown, Lynne Kellner, Richard Mendoza, Colleen Preston, Tom VanderVeen, Timothy Kerr, Paul Rigmaiden, Wade Wagner and Janice Viss; Turlock residents Don Hamaguchi, Larry Turner, Larry Sanders and Marlene Dhallin; and Edward Dobson of Salida and Catherine Cox of Westley. Alternates are Joyce Buhner of Patterson, Jay McReynolds Modesto, Paul Troop of Oakdale and Jeremy McManus of Patterson.

Five members are holdovers from the last grand jury.

Immediately after the selection process and swearing-in ceremony, the new panel attended an orientation session. They will also attend a required training session presented by the California Grand Jurors’ Association, a not-for-profit educational organization, on July 12-14.