By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Newly elected YCCD college board members takes oath
Anne DeMartini, Nancy Hinton and Antonio Aguilar began new terms on the Yosemite Community College District board last week.

Three recently elected members of the Yosemite Community College District Board of Trustees were sworn into office Wednesday afternoon. Trustees also elected Leslie Beggs to be chair and Abe Rojas as Vice Chair.

Stanislaus County Superior Court Judge Ruben A. Villalobos delivered the oath of office to three trustees – Nancy Hinton (Area 2), Anne DeMartini of Ceres (Area 4) and Antonio Aguilar (Area 7). All were elected on November 7.

This is DeMartini’s fifth term on the YCCD Board; she was first elected in 2002. Hinton and Aguilar begin their first terms. Aguilar’s term is for two years since he is filling out the remaining time on Jon Rodriguez’s term. Rodriguez was elected in 2016, but resigned a year later.

A fourth new trustee, Margie Bulkin in Area 1, will be sworn in at the Jan. 9 Board meeting. She is currently superintendent of Schools in Tuolumne County, but cannot join the YCCD Board until after she retires Jan. 7.

Beggs (Area 6) was first elected to the board in 2016. Rojas (Area 3) joined the YCCD Board in 1996.

The board also made appointments to the following committees or foundations

• Board Finance Committee: Darin Gharat (Area 5), Abe Rojas and Antonio Aguilar

• Board Policy Committee: Leslie Beggs, Anne DeMartini and Nancy Hinton

• Modesto Junior College Foundation: Leslie Beggs

• Great Valley Museum Foundation: Nancy Hinton

The seven trustees serve in a geographically and ethnically diverse region of more than 625,000 residents. The district spans more than 4,500 square miles, primarily in Stanislaus and Tuolumne counties, but also including portions of Calaveras, Merced, San Joaquin and Santa Clara counties. It includes two campuses in Modesto and one in Sonora that together serve about 25,000 students.

Board meetings will continue to be held on the second Wednesday of each month at 5:30 p.m. Meeting agendas can be found online at

Leslie Beggs (Area 6, Chair) and Abe Rojas (Area 3, Vice Chair)