By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Cowboys open season in Stockton
Ceres Cowboys varsity youth football coach Jim Patterson believes his team has the talent to make noise on the gridiron this season.

"I'd be disappointed if we didn't make the playoffs," he said following Tuesday, Aug. 19th's practice at Mae Hensley Jr. High School.

The 2008 Cowboys will be led by Josh Avila (quarterback/linebacker), Deonte King (running back/ wide receiver/defensive back), Deonte Gates (RB/WR/LB), Seth Garza (RB/WR/DB), Gary Briscoe (RB/CB/LB), Eric Perez (offensive/defensive line), Joseph Carillo (OL/LB), Joey Longtin (OL/LB), Raymond Camacho (OL/DL), Jared Hoefke (OL/DL), Brad Bruton (OL/DL) and Christian Reymundo (OL/DL).

Kenny Lopez (QB/DL), Alex Fernandez (TE/DL) and Timmy West (TE/DB) will contribute as well.

Gates, Longtin and Bruton were members of the Cowboys' junior-varsity squad last year.

Reymundo played varsity.

Patterson will rely on a first-year quarterback to direct his run-oriented, pro-set offense. Avila played middle linebacker for the JV Falcons three years ago.

"At the beginning, I had trouble remembering the plays," Josh said. "Now, I know what I'm doing."

Ceres' defensive formation will feature five linemen, three linebackers and three defensive backs.

The top four teams in the Delta Youth Football League's South Division advance to the playoffs.

The Cowboys will clash with the Modesto 49ers, Modesto-Empire Vikings, Delta Rebels, Manteca Chargers, Tracy Raiders, Tracy Cougars and RiverOak Redskins.

"If we get them to play to their abilities, we should be able to score three or four touchdowns a game with no problems," Patterson said.

Added Avila: "I think we're going to do pretty good. We got some athletes on this team and a lot of speed. We got a strong line. Everybody's pretty big. I see us in the playoffs for sure. We just need to work together."

The Cowboys have seven assistant coaches in Reg Evans, Tank Karlegan, Anthony Karlegan, Erik Payne, Shane Trousdale, Gerardo Fernandez and Michael Patterson.