By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Dolphin coaches recognize athletes at year-end pool party
The Ceres Dolphins recreational swim team held its year-end party on Sunday, July 17 at Ceres High School.

More than 400 people attended the all-day event, which got underway at noon and ended at 7 p.m.

Approximately 65 large Round Table pizzas were consumed during the shindig.

"We had a great time," head coach Tracy Bull said.

The Dolphins held a money dive at 3:15 p.m.

Coaches tossed several-hundred dollars in change into the water.

"All of the kids dove into the pool at the same time and grabbed as much money as they could," Bull said. "It was chaotic."

Awards were handed out between 3:30 and 5:30 p.m.

Swimmers of the year

17-18 boys

Victor Cruz

17-18 girls

Cassandra Guevara

Montana Bull

15-16 boys

Zachary Jones

15-16 girls

Haley Fisicaro

13-14 boys

Francisco Moran

13-14 girls

Payton Mahu

Catherina Tan

11-12 boys

Kimo Guevara

11-12 girls

Julia Pata

9-10 boys

Ricardo Cano

9-10 girls

Jadyn Shinn

7-8 boys

Jordan Shinn

7-8 girls

Aryanna Jimenez

Emma Silveria

6&under boys

Diego Armas

6&under girls

Keira Miller

Most Improved

13-14 boys

Wesley Peterson

13-14 girls

LaShanda Roach

Jasmine Connolly

11-12 boys

Daniel Hagens

Gavin Connolly

Connor Mills

Jake Hassler

11-12 girls

Makayla Lawrence

Monae DeCamera

Samantha Muniz

9-10 boys

Andy Jacinto

9-10 girls

Jullissa Arreola

Alexa Marquez

Reece Rockwood

7-8 girls

Madison Bevan

Allison McAdams

Hailey Rosales

6 & under boys

Nico Gil

6 & under girls

Jessica Potts

Sofia Garcia

Coaches Award

11-12 boys

Logan Kier

11-12 girls

Lindsey Reedy

Taylor Starkweather

Chloe Kline

9-10 boys

Mateo Ibarra

Donald Cook III

9-10 girls

Hannah Kelley

Abigayle Weitl

7-8 boys

Fabian Gutierrez

Alex Gu

6 & under

Maci Farinha

High Point (top 40)

17-18 boys

Billy Gonzalez

Jason Stanhope

Conner Almeida

17-18 girls

Cierra Alvear

15-16 boys

Stefan Perry

Jacob Stone

15-16 girls

Maureen Nelson

Megan Braverman

Kaylee Mattice

Savanna Alvear

13-14 boys

Nathan Stone

13-14 girls

Cheyenne Brazil

Jordan Pata

Ashley Miller

Justina Castillo

11-12 boys

James Diaz

Spencer Nelson

11-12 girls

Amy Holliday

Emma Bevan

Natalie Zavala

Ciana Sather

Katrina Guevara

Emily Zizzo

9-10 boys

Matthew Zizzo

Agustin Leyva

Angelo Najera

9-10 girls

Edelya Borges

Iliana Borges

Camryn Silva

Paige Connolly

7-8 boys

Kaleb Miller

Jeremy Kier

7-8 girls

Makayla Estermann

Victoria Silveria

Sara Zizzo

6 & under boys

Andy Tan

Ryan Estermann

Donovan Cash

Nicholas Villalobos

Best new swimmer

Carmen Mendoza (9-10 girls)

Ten-year-old Angelo Najera was the recipient of the Second Annual Connor Saavedra Award. Saavedra passed away unexpectedly at the age of seven while vacationing in Oklahoma last summer.

Najera, a deaf swimmer, racked up 33 points this season for the Dolphins. He placed ninth in the 100 free, 10th in the 50 breast and 14th in the 50 free at the MVSL Championships.

"Angelo showed tremendous courage," Bull said. "He loved swimming and his teammates. He was one of the hardest workers on the team. He has very good potential."