By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Dolphins hold award banquet, party
Ceres athletes conclude season with fun event
Placeholder Image

The members of the Ceres Dolphins recreational swim club organization spent a large portion of their day at Ceres High School on July 20.

About 200 trophies and 110 medals were passed out during the year-end award banquet, staged from 2-4 p.m., at Phil de la Porte Gymnasium.

The pool was utilized between noon and 5:30 p.m.
More than 60 Round Table pizzas were consumed and washed down with soda.

"It was a really great event," head coach Tracy Bull said. "Everybody had a good time."

Most Valuable Player awards were presented to Zachary Jones (17-18 boys), Reuven Denton (15-16 boys), Julia Pata (15-16 girls), Ciana Sather (13-14 girls), Alyvea Olanolan (11-12 girls), Brett Hartley (9-10 boys), Emma Silveria (9-10 girls), Victoria Silveria (9-10 girls) and Kaydence Bispo (7-8 girls).

Julia, Emma and Victoria captured High-Point trophies at the Mid Valley Swim League Championships.

Colin Ramos (15-16 boys), Lindsey Reedy (15-16 girls), Agustin Leyva (13-14 boys), Hannah Denton (13-14 girls), Elliot Lewis (11-12 boys), Aryanna Jimenez (11-12 girls), Mikiela Jackson (11-12 girls), Camryn Silva (11-12 girls), Diego Armas (9-10 boys), Evan Lumpkin (9-10 boys), Sofia Amaral (9-10 girls), Cassandra Carranza (9-10 girls), Nicholas Campbell (7-8 boys), Danika Brar (7-8 girls), Abigail Gonzalez (7-8 girls), Zachary Esparza (6&under boys) and Zhaira Brar (6&under girls) took home Swimmer of the Year awards.

Annie Connors (15-16 girls), Tristan Freitas-Scott (13-14 boys), Gary Dodd (11-12 boys), Olivia Kee (11-12 girls), Alysse Messer (11-12 girls) and Blake Ricks (7-8 boys) were named Best Newcomers.

Logan Kier (15-16 boys), Daniel Hagens (13-14 boys), Maddie Kidd (11-12 girls), Jessica Scott (11-12 girls), Gurneel Gill (9-10 boys), Ally Feld (9-10 girls), Hailey Rosales (9-10 girls) and Sarah Ricks (7-8 girls) were named Breakout Swimmers of the Year.

Hardest Worker awards went to Camille Hartley (11-12 girls), Emma Lewis (9-10 girls), Gabriella Jackson (7-8 girls) and Madeline Staley (7-8 girls).

Angelo Najera (13-14 boys) and Chloe Kline (13-14 girls) were recipients of the Mister Dolphin and Miss Dolphin awards.

Donald Cook III (11-12 boys) and Hannah Kelley (11-12 girls) were named Mr. Junior Dolphin and Ms. Junior Dolphin, respectively.

Cesar Mejia (9-10 boys) received the "Connor" Award.

Former Dolphin Connor Saavedra passed away at the age of seven in July of 2010.

Over $1,000 worth of Dolphin merchandise was sold at the year-end banquet and pool party.

The Dolphins held a money dive at 4 p.m. Coaches tossed several-hundred dollars in change into the water.

Parents raced against their children at 4:30 p.m.

"That was one of the highlights," Bull said. "We had great attendance."