By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Hawks claim consolation championship
Placeholder Image
Senior Yama Noorzai made six three-point baskets and scored a career-high 32 points to propel Central Valley High School's varsity boys basketball team past Hiram Johnson, 59-54, in the consolation championship game of the Warrior Classic on Saturday at Galt High School.

"In addition to his 32 points, he had five assists," Hawks coach Darryl Dickson said. "He was responsible for 42 of our 59 points. It was an awesome game to watch. He was picking their team apart. I wish he could do that every night."

Noorzai made the all-tournament team for totaling 65 points, 14 assists and 12 rebounds in three games.

"Yama is the smartest player we have on the court," Dickson said. "His maturity level has increased. That's why he's getting what he's getting."

Against Hiram Johnson, Noorzai scored 12 of Central Valley's 26 third-quarter points on four 3-pointers. His offensive outburst turned a two-point deficit into a 42-all tie.

He also accounted for nine of the Hawks' final 17 points.

Trevor Mew added 13 points, including three 3s. Sean McLeod and Tony Marques had eight and four points, respectively. Gerald Garcia and Brian Blunt contributed two points each.

Central Valley won two of three games at the Galt tourney.

Noorzai tallied 21 points and the Hawks cruised to a 50-36 victory over the Chavez Titans in the second round on Friday.

Mew and Garcia each scored six points for Central Valley, which led 40-21 at the end of the third quarter. McLeod and Eric Esquivel had four points apiece. Marques added three points. Blunt, Rick Rogers and Robert Morgan all contributed two points.

The Hawks lost 54-44 to Lodi in the first round on Thursday.

Noorzai led Central Valley with 12 points on four treys. McLeod, Morgan and Esquivel netted 11, seven and four points, respectively. Mew and Garcia chipped in three and two points each.

Scott Hubbard, John Clemons and Ray Nikzat had 15, 13 and 10 points apiece for the Flames, who went on to claim the tourney title with a 61-54 triumph over Argonaut.