By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
CUSD honors newest employees, tenured teachers
Placeholder Image
Ceres Unified held a reception for its newest employees and tenured teachers, 125 total, on Tuesday, Sept. 25 in the Argus-Endeavor multi-use room.

Cookies and refreshments were served and music played in the background as people chatted.

"We've done this for a number of years," said Denise Wickham, assistant superintendent of personnel services for CUSD. "This is our favorite night of the year. Isn't it great?"

Employees were introduced during the commendation portion of last week's Ceres School Board meeting. Broken down by schools the employees were:

• Adkison Elementary School - Amy Dabulewicz, Cathleen Carrera, Janelle Chapman, Luz Cuarenta-Gallegos, Laura Ekler, Rebecca Kerr, Eliana Naranjo-Belmonte, Heather Pulido, Lisa Tijerino, Landee Tim and Julie Trainor.

• Carroll Fowler Elementary - Olga Hage, Tammy Ratajczak, Gary Rooney and Nicole Santana Souza.

• Joel Hidahl Elementary - Margaret Hickman and Loresno Melgarejo.

• Don Pedro Elementary - Emily Goodwin and Elizabeth Miyamoto.

• La Rosa Elementary - Amber Cunningham and Elizabeth Gothard.

• Sam Vaughn Elementary - Robyn Hewitt and Crystal Johnson.

• Virginia Parks Elementary - Michelle Arakelian and Joseph Stewart.

• Walter White Elementary - Linda Arroyo, Andrew Conteh, Jolleen de Clerq, Erin Perry, Shannon Vella-Moreno, Sergio Viera and Megan Yowell.

• Westport Elementary - Rita Dutra.

• Blaker Kinser Junior High - Ashley Briar, Audra Arauza Razo, Lisa Sanchez, Ramouna Yaco, Nate Diamantine (also Cesar Chavez Jr. High),

• Cesar Chavez Junior High - Seth Aldrich, Elizabeth Capdevielle, Shauna Barringer, Joyce Gairaud, Katherine Lurye and Kelly Wheelock.

• Mae Hensley Junior High - Melyssa Cook, Leah Avery, Shawn Costa, Joleen Hammell and Peter Knudson.

• Ceres High School - Stefanie Alvarez, Michael Patterson, Ruth Truesdell, Daniel Pangrazio, Patrica Byers, Robin Chambers, Elizabeth Fernandez, Anthony Gerads, Lucy Ortega, Kristen Pallas, David Prieto, Victoria Rivera, Richard Ruiz, Lorena Suarez and Miguel Uribe.

• Central Valley High School - Margarita Arzola, Efrain Hinojosa, Susana Kandeel, Megan Webster, Sara Wilson, Brian Wise, Kristin Lilly-Porter, Guillermo Elias, Jason McCloskey, Richard Mickelson, Danielle Petroni, Juliana Trejo and Angelina Berger.

• Whitmore Charter School - Kathie Knudsen, Karina Koizumi-Fielden, Lucia Alfaro, Matthew Beale, Diana Castrejon Alcocer, Juliana Mazzera and Lauren Moraca.

District employees honored were:

• Business Services/Child Nutrition Department - Laci Apodoca, Amelia Epperson, Maria Elena Garcia, Charlene Guary, Sherrie Keener, Diana Lane, Jeanne Lytle, Katrina Munoz and Laura Tuggle.

• Maintenance - Marc Machain.

• Transportation - Andrew Beckwith.

• Personnel Division - Fernando Ureno.

• Educational Services - Jan Wood and Anna Tavares.

• Student Support Services - Benjamin Reece, Christina Siller, Marissa Acosta, Aston Avila, Aline Baca, Kelene Blevins, La Donna Burnett, Cori Dahlstrom, Janie Dominquez, Jacquelynn Hunter, Crystal Morrison, Stacy Mullins, Keely Noonan, Sandra Ochoa, Maria Polanes, Josephine Rodriguez, Sergey Tereshchenko and Viviana Villa.

• Student Support Services/Adult Education - Andrea Arana.

• Student Support Services/Child Welfare Attendance - Gina Tate.

• Student Support Services/Educational Options - Natalie Isaac, Shayla King, Adriana Peral and Sandra Vera.

• Student Support Services/Preschool/Head Start - Sharon Crain and Amy Stubblefield.

• Student Support Services/Project Yes Program - Lorena Rivas.

The honorees posed for a group picture with CUSD Supt. Scott Siegel and Board Trustees Teresa Guerrero, Valli Wigt, Mike Welsh, Jim Kinard, Betty Davis, Lourdes Perez and Faye Lane.

"Our employees are the backbone of the district," Siegel said. "I appreciate each and every one of them."