By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
CHS coaches recognize athletes
Bella Curry
Senior Bella Curry was named Most Valuable Player of Ceres High School’s varsity girls volleyball team during the school’s Nov. 7 fall sports banquet.

Ceres High School held its fall sports banquet earlier this month.

Coaches honored student-athletes that participated in girls volleyball, boys water polo, girls water polo, girls tennis, football, boys cross country and girls cross country.

Hosted by the CHS Athletic Booster Club, the dinner and awards program was staged at 6 p.m. on Nov. 7 inside the school’s cafeteria.

More than 350 people attended the event.

Student-athletes ate for free, while parents shelled out $10 a plate.

Dinner consisted of chicken, beans, rolls, salad and cookies.

“We had a great time,” Ceres High cross country head coach Katie Thiele said.

Girls Volleyball

MVP—Isabella Curry

Most Improved—Mya Robinson

Best Offensive Player—Allison Stiles

JV Girls Volleyball

MVP—Jamie Olvera

Most Improved—Jazmyne Arendt

Frosh-Soph Girls Volleyball

MVP—Abigayil Prado

Most Improved—Natalie Corbin

Boys Water Polo

MVP—Brian Ayala

Most Promising Newcomer—Nicholas Campbell

Most Valuable Defender—Jeremy Kier

Most Improved Player—Oscar Barajas

Girls Water Polo

MVP—Emily Wolff

Offensive Player of the Year—Elise Cannella

All-Around Player of the Year—Allison McAdams

Most Improved Player—Makayla Estermann

JV Girls Water Polo

MVP—Andrea Contreras

Spirit Award—Emily Bringazi

Girls Tennis

MVP—Jillian Jimenez

Leadership Award—Tania Garfias

Patience and Positivity Award—Gurmenjit Bahia

Junior-Varsity Girls Tennis

Leadership Award—Liesha Jimenez

The Front Runner Award—Roxanna Bonilla


Bulldog Award—Elias Saldana

Bulldog Award—Aaron Delgado

Bulldog Award—Isaias Jimenez

Frosh-Soph Football

Bulldog Award—Joshua Prestridge

Bulldog Award—Miguel Rivera

Boys Cross Country

MVP—Bryan Erenas

Coaches’ Award—Ronaldo Flores

Coaches’ Award—Fabian Amparo

Bulldog Award—Jossue Portillo 

JV Boys Cross Country

Coaches’ Award—Eduardo Ortiz

Girls Cross Country

MVP—Jacqueline Rodriguez

Coaches’ Award—Diana Del Real

Newcomer—Esmeralda Garcia

4-Year Cross Country Athlete—Jacqueline Rodriguez

JV Girls Cross Country

Bulldog Award—Karen Vang