By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Bulldogs wrap up dual season
Jaden Stahl
Jaden Stahl helped lead Ceres High’s girls wrestling team to a second-place finish during the WAC dual season.

Ceres High’s wrestling program wrapped up the Western Athletic Conference dual-meet season on Senior Night at Phil de la Porte Gymnasium on Jan. 25.

Ceres High’s girls team collected wins against Mountain House and Pacheco.

Ceres High’s boys team edged Mountain House and lost to Pacheco.

“We’re peaking at the right time,” said Curtis Hulstine, leader of the girls squad.

“Anytime we get on the mat and we’re competitive, I’m happy with the kids,” said Casey Paulino, boys head coach.

Ceres High’s girls team (6-1) managed to place second in the WAC standings this winter despite competing with a new-look lineup. The Bulldogs returned just four grapplers from last season’s team.

“They exceeded my expectations with how young they are,” Hulstine said. “This is the best team I’ve coached. They work hard every single day. They take constructive criticism and learn from their mistakes. I see us having a really solid team the next three to four years. We’ve built a good system.”

Ceres High earned a hard-fought 42-39 victory over Pacheco.

“A lot of girls stepped up and got wins for the team,” Hulstine said. “Everyone wrestled the way they should have wrestled.”

Dayanna Alvarez won by first-round pin over Athena Garcia at 137 pounds.

Evanah Gallardo won by second-round pin over Karla Reyes at 116 pounds.

Jadasa Haro won by second-round pin over Alexandra Loretto at 111 pounds.

Elizabeth Boyd won by third-round pin over Briana Orozco at 189 pounds.

Madeline Schultz won by forfeit at 170 pounds.

Eva Onsurez-Lopez won by forfeit at 126 pounds.

Jaden Stahl won by forfeit at 121 pounds.

Isabella Nunguray won by forfeit at 101 pounds.

Jayda Bryant lost by decision (5-3) to Jayna Arrocena at 160 pounds.

Emily Ivey lost by first-round pin to Coreylei Vaifale at 235 pounds.

Kaylie Clindaniel lost by second-round pin to Angelique Garcia at 131 pounds.

Ceres High rolled to a 54-18 victory against Mountain House.

“The girls took care of business,” Hulstine said. 

Alvarez won by first-round pin over Shaila Bhatiq at 137 pounds.

Gallardo won by second-round pin over Veronika Emerson at 116 pounds.

Stahl won by decision (14-9) over Rachel Prasad at 121 pounds.

Ivey (235s), Boyd (189s), Schultz (170s), Bryant (160s), Clindaniel (131s), Onsurez-Lopez (126s), Haro (111s) and Nunguray (101s) all won by forfeit.

Ceres High’s youth-laden boys team compiled a 4-3 record on its way to a three-way tie for fourth place in the WAC standings.

“They did exactly what we wanted them to do,” Paulino said. “The kids gave us everything they had.”

Ceres High prevailed 36-30 versus Mountain House.

“Our kids wrestled really well,” Paulino said. 

Jaime Torres won by first-round pin over Manan Singal at 170 pounds.

Issac Bravo won by first-round pin over Winston Schenck at 138 pounds.

Arturo Estrada won by first-round pin over Elias Magann at 132 pounds.

Calen Adams won by first-round pin over Keanu Del La Cruz at 113 pounds.

Jaylin Jackson won by forfeit at 285 pounds.

Abraham Rodriguez won by forfeit at 160 pounds.

Evan Letras won by forfeit at 106 pounds.

Pacheco escaped with a 46-36 win over Ceres High.

“We should have won by at least six points,” Paulino said. “We lost matches that we should have won.”

Jose Nunez won by first-round pin over Xavier Flores at 220 pounds.

Bravo won by first-round pin over Joseph De La Rosa at 138 pounds.

Letras won by first-round pin over Jace Campos at 106 pounds.

Joseph Alcala won by second-round pin over Christian De La O at 145 pounds.

Estrada won by second-round pin over Brennan Watkins at 132 pounds.

Jackson won by third-round pin over Bryan Sevilla at 285 pounds.

Torres won by forfeit at 170 pounds.

A total of 10 upperclassmen were recognized during Ceres High’s Senior Night, including Jayda Bryant, Jazmyne Arendt, Dominque Arendt, Natalie Gomes, Emma Johnson, Arturo Estrada, Dakota Adams, Daniel Baker, Jaylin Jackson and Omar Maciel.