By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Chamber selling tickets for banquet
Juan Romo.jpg
Ceres Chamber of Commerce President Juan Romo will be busy the evening of Friday, Jan. 25 for the annual installation dinner. He's seen here at the 2018 event. - photo by Jeff Benziger

The Ceres Chamber of Commerce is selling tickets for its 2019 annual Community Service Awards & Installation Dinner.

The event is set for 6 p.m. on Friday, Jan. 25 at the Ceres Community Center, 2701 Fourth Street. Tickets are $40 per person with sponsorship tables seating eight available for $350 which includes complimentary wine and sponsor recognition. To purchase tickets or to sponsor a table, contact the Chamber at 537-2601, visit, or email

A highlight of the event will be the recognition of outstanding members in the Ceres community who have made extraordinary contributions in service.

“This event is one of the most exciting events for the Chamber as we celebrate and honor individuals and businesses that serve our community in various ways,” said Chamber Executive Director Renee Ledbetter.

Awards to be doled out include Distinguished Service, Volunteer of the Year, Business of the Year, Downtown Business of the Year, Citizen of the Year and Young Citizen of the Year. The Chamber Legacy Award, honors individuals and/or businesses that have contributed through service, support or volunteer efforts to the Ceres community for more than 40 years.

Originally called “Citizens of the Year” past recipients of the Chamber’s prestigious honor over the years were: Jake Dillon, 1968; Gus Pallios, 1969; Raymond Rhode, 1970; Elton Turner, 1971; Les Fricke, 1972; Ray Baltz, 1973; Miles Jensen, 1974; Helen Marchy, 1975; Virginia “Betty” Parks, 1976; Dr. Bob Adkison, 1977; Joel Hidahl, 1978; Millie Lucas, 1979; Roger Strange, 1980; Virginia Bathe, 1981; Linda Carlin, 1982; Fran Welsh, 1983; Ron Richter, 1984; Paul Caruso, 1985; Newby Herrick, 1986; Leroy Barbour, 1987; Gene Welsh, 1988; Ruth Jorgensen, 1989; Howard Hickey, 1990; George Costa, 1991; George Edgerly III, 1992; Art McRae, 1993; Eldon DeWitt, 1994; Larry Hersey, 1995; Jeff Maloy, 1996; Caryl Fowler, 1997; Mae Hensley, 1998; Arlene Vilas, 1999; Eric Ingwerson, 2000; Sid Long, 2001; Sarah Cuddy, 2002; Phil de la Porte, 2003; Lou Toste, 2004; Grant Lucas, 2005; Steve Vilas, 2006; Phil Reynders, 2007; Kim Chapman, 2008; Shirley Davis, 2009; Stan Sinclear, 2010, Lisa Mantarro Moore, 2011; George Pallios, 2012; Adrian Condit, 2013; Rocky Fisher, 2014; Richard “Dick” McKay, 2015; Lonny Davis, 2016; Sharon Caruso, 2017; and Becki Nicholes, 2018.