By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
CHS Hall of Fame ceremony this Saturday
River Oaks hosting event
Ryan Thornberry and 10 other former Bulldog male athletes will be enshrined into Ceres High Schools Hall of Fame on Saturday. - photo by Contributed to the Courier

Athletes, coaches and teams from the past will be inducted into Ceres High School's Hall of Fame as part of the Class of 2018 this Saturday at the River Oaks Golf Course Event Center.

Former Bulldog male athletes Grady Jordan (class of 1971, track), Garrett Deering (1983, tennis), Fred Orange (1995, basketball and track), Jason Perry (1995, wrestling), Jared Bertolotti (1998, basketball, baseball and cross country), Debin Cowell (1999, football and baseball), Ryan Thornberry (2002, golf), Derrick Goblirsch (2005, football, basketball and baseball), Kevin Dupree (2007, basketball and track), Ray Green (2007, basketball and track) and Ross Tate (2007, football, basketball and track) are being enshrined into the HOF for their individual excellence.

Female athlete HOF recipients include Karen Jordan (1979, track), Delise Young (1999, volleyball and basketball), Reshundra Smiley (2001, basketball and track), Omaira Estremera (volleyball and softball), Natalie Alvarez (2004, cross country and track), Meghan Franksen (2005, volleyball, basketball and softball), Jennifer Arnold (2006, volleyball, basketball and softball), Jessica Mazza (2006, volleyball, basketball and track), Heather Jones (2007, basketball, cross country and track) and Kristen McClure (2007, basketball and track).

Former coaches to be rewarded for their outstanding leadership include Frank Cheek (1964-1969, wrestling, football, tennis and baseball), Ben Brenning (1968-2002, football, basketball and baseball), Glenn Nowicki (1980-1997, wrestling, tennis, football and volleyball), Glenn Driskell (1985-2017, basketball, cross country, track, tennis and softball), Shawna Nunes (1987-2011, basketball, volleyball, track and softball) and Bryan Harden (1992-2016, boys tennis and girls tennis).

Three teams are also being honored for their dominance.

Ceres High's 1994 boys basketball team featured Nate Thornberry, Oscar Ruiz, Sean Kitzmiller, Tino Scoto, Paul Veuve, Art Gariety, Mike Gariety, Alex Holloway, Mike Bradley, Mel Claxton, Jeff Burrow, Josh Baker, Fred Orange, Eric Brush and Jody Middleton. Head coach Glenn Driskell was assisted by Phil de la Porte.

Ceres High's 1999 girls basketball team featured Reshundra Smiley, Amy Cucinella, Natalia Kortsova, Shannon Donnelly, Delise Young, Denise Wake, Eric Gomez, Liz Carranza, Cortney Welch, Amber Maldonado and Jamie Bertolotti. Head coach Shawna Nunes' assistant was Phil de la Porte.

Ceres High's 2005 girls basketball team featured Jennifer Arnold, Kelsey Sayad, Krystle Brown, Jessica Mazza, Heather Mazza, Crystal Perez, Meghan Franksen, Kristen McClure, Jessica Hunter, Donna Zaragoza, Emily Coutrakis, Jordan Nash and Heather Jones. The Bulldogs were coached by Shawna Nunes and Phil de la Porte.

The event will begin with a no-host bar at 5 p.m., dinner at 6 and presentation at 7.

Tickets are limited, must be purchased in advance and will not be available at the door. Cost is $40 per person and $20 for children under 10.

Tickets can be purchased by calling 209-556-1920, ext. 5379, or online at