By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Decision could sideline Velasquez
Andres Velasquez 14
Central Valley High School grad Andres Velasquez (14) helped lead the UC Davis men’s soccer team to a NCAA Division-I Tournament berth and the Big West Conference Tournament title last fall.

Andres Velasquez will find out this Thursday if he’ll get to play soccer at UC Davis this fall.

The 2020 campaign was supposed to get underway next month.

“We might not have a season (due to the coronavirus pandemic),” the 2017 Central Valley High School grad said. “It’s still up in the air. We’re trying to find a way to play just conference games. They (Big West Conference officials) were supposed to make an announcement on July 12.”

Velasquez filled a key role as UC Davis qualified for the NCAA Division-I Tournament for just the third time in program history, compiled a 13-5-2 overall record and claimed the Big West Conference Tournament title for the first time in 2019. The junior midfielder collected three goals, including two game-winners, and one assist while starting all 20 games.

Velasquez broke a scoreless tie 10 minutes into the second half as the Aggies pulled away for a 2-0 victory against UC Santa Barbara during the conference tourney championship match.

“After the game, I watched a replay of my goal 30 times,” he said. “It felt like a dream. It was unreal.”

Velasquez helped lead Central Valley to a 20-7-3 overall record and surprising berth to the Sac-Joaquin Section Division-III championship game in 2017.

Velasquez and the Hawks upset No. 1 East Union and No. 4 Rio Americano on their way to the finals.

Velasquez’s production at forward earned him Western Athletic Conference Most Valuable Player honors.

He led the WAC in scoring with 24 goals.

He ranked third in assists (9).

Velasquez is remembered as one of Central Valley’s all-time greatest players.

He followed in the footsteps of Ozzie Ramos (2012, 2011), Daniel Ochoa (2011), Gerardo Cazares (2010) and Jose Ramirez (2009) by being voted league MVP.