By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Bulldogs extend unbeaten tennis streak
CHS wins its 33rd consecutive match
Jorge Ruiz, pictured, and Ceres High No. 2 doubles partner Julian Rodriguez went 2-0 in WAC play last week.

Ceres High's varsity boys tennis team dominated El Capitan and Pacheco during the opening week of Western Athletic Conference play.

"It's a new season," Bulldogs head coach Bryan Harden said. "We started off where we left off."

The Bulldogs extended their unbeaten streak in conference play, which dates back to the 2012 season, to 33 matches.

"We try not to focus on that," said Harden, whose team has won the WAC championship the past three years. "At this point, it's not that big of a deal. We haven't done anything yet this season."

Ceres High posted an 8-1 victory over El Capitan on Thursday in Merced.

Julio Ochoa won 6-0, 6-0 at No. 1 singles.

Nolan McCaig won 6-0, 6-0 at No. 2 singles.

Chase Harden won 6-4, 6-2 at No. 3 singles.

Rene Cortes won 6-4, 6-2 at No. 4 singles.

Bruno de la Torre won 6-0, 6-4 at No. 6 singles.

Juan Jimenez and Dennis Phommalinh won 6-3, 6-0 in No. 1 doubles play.

Jorge Ruiz and Julian Rodriguez won 6-2, 6-1 in No. 2 doubles play.

Alex Torres and Manuel Lozcano won 6-0, 6-1 in No. 3 doubles play.

Ceres High shut out Pacheco 9-0 on March 3 in Ceres.

The Bulldogs won all six singles and three doubles matches versus the Panthers.

Ochoa defeated Ismael Orozco 6-0, 6-0 in No. 1 singles play.

McCaig defeated Angel Lopez 6-0, 6-0 in No. 2 singles play.

Harden defeated Antonio Hipolito 6-0, 6-0 in No. 3 singles play.

Cortes defeated Danny Espinoza 6-0, 6-0 in No. 4 singles play.

Jose Ortega defeated Michael Ayala 6-0, 6-1 in No. 5 singles play.

Bruno de la Torre won by default at No. 6 singles.

Jimenez and Phommalinh defeated Flavio Orozco and Omar Silva 6-0, 6-1 in No. 1 doubles play.

Ruiz and Rodriguez defeated Chris Barba and Brandon Guzman 6-1, 6-0 in No. 2 doubles play.

Torres and Lozcano won by default at No. 3 doubles.