By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Newly-elected YCCD trustees sworn into office
2022 YCCD board
The new YCCD board trustees and officers.

Three recently elected members of the Yosemite Community College District Board of Trustees were sworn into office Wednesday afternoon. Trustees also elected Leslie Beggs to serve as President and Dr. Milton Richards to serve as Vice President.

Chancellor Henry Yong administered the oath of office to the three trustees – Dr. Don Davis (Area 1), Nancy Hinton (Area 2), and Jenny Nicolau (Area 4). All were successful following the November 8 election cycle.

Davis begins his first term with the YCCD Board; he previously served as the Superintendent of the Waterford Unified School District prior to his retirement in 2022. For Hinton, it is her second term on the YCCD Board; she was first elected in 2018. Nicolau was first appointed to the YCCD Board on February 16, 2021 to fill the vacant seat left by Anne DeMartini who retired on Jan. 3, 2021. This will be the first full term for Nicolau.

Beggs (Area 6) was first elected to the Board in 2016. Richards (Area 3) joined the YCCD Board in 2020.

The Board also made appointments to the following committees or foundations:

• Board Finance Committee: Antonio Aguilar (Area 7), Darin Gharat (Area 5), and Dr. Milton Richards;

• Board Policy Committee: Leslie Beggs, Nancy Hinton, and Jenny Nicolau;

• Modesto Junior College Foundation: Leslie Beggs;

• Columbia College Foundation: Dr. Don Davis.

The seven YCCD trustees serve in a geographically and ethnically diverse region of more than 625,000 residents. The district spans more than 4,500 square miles, primarily in Stanislaus and Tuolumne counties, but also including portions of Calaveras, Merced, San Joaquin, and Santa Clara counties. It includes two campuses in Modesto and one in Sonora that together serve over 13,000 students.

Board meetings will continue to be held on the second Wednesday of each month at 5:30 p.m. Meeting agendas can be found online at