By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
CV boys compete at Tim Brown Memorial
Curry wins three matches at 160s
Ryan Palecek and the Hawks competed at the Tim Brown Memorial Tournament earlier this month in Sacramento. - photo by Courier file photo

Central Valley's varsity boys wrestling program had 13 individuals compete at the Jan. 12-13 Tim Brown Memorial Tournament in Sacramento.

Just three Hawk grapplers won at least one match, including Nathan Curry, James Murphy and Juan Lezama.

Curry compiled a 3-2 record while competing in the 160-pound bracket.

Nathan collected victories against Rosemont's Vitaliy Kushnirhuck (pin), Enterprise's Jodeah Wilson (pin) and Rodriguez's Andres Rodriguez (decision).

He lost to Lower Lake's Carlos Avelar (pin) and Calaveras' Donivan Giangregorio (decision).

Murphy posted a 1-2 record at 152 pounds.

James beat Rosemont's Collin Sinnot (pin).

He lost to Woodcreek's Angelo Acia (decision) and Enterprise's Erik Palmquist (pin).

Lezama amassed a 1-2 record at 182 pounds.

Juan beat Granite Bay's Elias Mendoza (pin).

He lost to Gridley's Jace Villapania (pin) and Casa Roble's Chris Weddle (pin).

Anthony Voss (120s), Michael Duran (126s), Kyle Hendrix (132s), Alan Chavez (138s), Mason Lourenco (152s), Ryan Palecek (170s), Juan Lezama (182s), Thomas Carrillo (182s), Natanael Lezama (195s), Moises Galeana (220s) and Edgar Castillo (285s) all went 0-2 in their respective weight classes.

Voss lost to Laguna's Neal Jamora (pin) and Bradshaw's Jeffery Barretto (pin).

Duran lost to Ukiah's Noah McKeown (pin) and Yuba City's Johnathan McGuire (major decision).

Hendrix lost to Casa Robles' Maxwell Haban (decision) and Ryan Rocklin's Clark (decision).

Chavez lost to Escalon's Rhys Panero (pin) and Modesto's Ernesto Escobar (pin).
Lourenco lost to Center's Lorenzo McGill (pin) and Rocklin's Sammy Hinerman (pin).

Palecek lost to Yuba City's Emilano Murillo (pin) and Grace Davis' Darren Barbera (decision).

Carrillo lost to El Dorado's Trevor Pike (pin) and Woodcreek's Mike Kilton (pin).

Natanael Lezama lost to El Dorado's Branson Kirby (pin) and Modesto's Eligio Arroyo (decision).

Galeana lost to Calaveras' John Kelly (pin) and El Dorado's Tyler Dean (pin).

Castillo lost to Lodi's Ben Bishop (pin) and Patterson's Jacob Vainuku (pin).